Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
atciskanik  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 3, 2010 4:32:59 AM(UTC)
atciskanik

Groups: Registered

Yesterday my Kenmore Elite dryer stopped heating. The dryer turns on, the drum turns, the timer advances, but no heat. I cleaned out the lint in vent, took off the toekick panel, cleaned out the lint inside, still no heat. The dryer heating coil does not get hot at all.

All the blogs tell me to check the resistance of certain components. I have an ohms meter but I am an electrical novice. I cannot find a diagram to show me what to check, how to get to it and how to check it.

I fixed my fridge leak last summer so I am confident I can do this--just need the correct info. Thanks.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

magician59  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 3, 2010 5:36:06 AM(UTC)
magician59

Groups: Senior Expert

There isn't much literature available for Kenmore appliances, as Sears controls the service of these. Your dryer, however is a Whirlpool product made for Sears and the parts for Whirlpool are identical. You will want to check for continuity in the thermostats, thermal fuse, and the heater element.When you do, disconnect each component from at least one of its connecting wires, so that you con't get false readings. The parts look like this: Thermal fuse Part number: AP3132867
Part number: AP3132867
or Part number: AP3133489
Part number: AP3133489
. Cycling thermostatPart number: AP3131939
Part number:  AP3131939
. Thermal cut off (hi limit thermostat) Part number: AP3094244
Part number: AP3094244
. Replace the component(s) that read no continuity.
atciskanik  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 3, 2010 6:23:06 AM(UTC)
atciskanik