Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages123>
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jhonster  
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 21, 2011 9:36:21 PM(UTC)
jhonster

Groups: Registered

I have the same problem. If I hear the machine stop agitating and then go to tub drain/spin cycle, I hear the pump draining the tub....but it won't spin unless I open and reclose the lid. There is a pause between the agitation cycle and the tub drain/spin cycle, so does that mean my timer is cutting the power? I'm just not sure if replacing the timer would be the total fix for my scenario. Anyway to verify this?

I've been an automotive mechanic for 35 years, so electrical and mechanic equipment isn't an issue for me. So please don't be shy in explaining something technically to me.

Thanks in advance for any help. Its much appreciated. I already replaced the clutch assembly and now the machine doesn't have the loud "clack" noise when the tub does actually spin in the latter spin cycle.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

sidfink43  
#2 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2011 5:10:36 PM(UTC)
sidfink43

Groups: Senior Expert

I am assuming this is a direct drive Whirlpool made machine.

Your machine has a neutral drain, meaning when it starts to drain the transmission shifts into neutral so it is not trying to turn the tub while it is full of water.

The timer needs to pause the motor after the drain is complete. This causes the transmission to shift into spin. If the motor does not pause, no shift. So the timer is not doing its "pause" job, and when you open and close the lid you are doing the pause job for it. That is why it starts spinning after you do that.

So replacing the timer should fix your problem.
isubucky  
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 25, 2011 6:10:17 AM(UTC)
isubucky