Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
sunal4  
#1 Posted : Sunday, August 8, 2010 5:18:26 PM(UTC)
sunal4

Groups: Registered

I have a GE Profile Performance Refrigerator where the Freezer has stopped cooling. I know the back coils are frozen, I've defrosted it once already, but it's only been a week and it froze again. I'm not exactly sure how to check if the defroster is working or where it is. Is there a diagram you can send me that shows where it's all located and how I go about testing it to see if it works? Or how to turn it on to defrost? I read I can stick a screwdriver in a hole and turn it till it clicks, where is this hole and should I unplug the fridge first? I'm not too experienced with this, but if I'm able to see it I can figure it out, and I can't afford to call someone to come and fix it. I've tried to look up the Model number, but it can't be found...please any advice would be wonderful.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

denman  
#2 Posted : Monday, August 9, 2010 4:41:08 AM(UTC)
denman

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Here are your parts, I used the BA unit
Replacement parts for TRX22PPDA models | AppliancePartsPros.com

First remove the evaporator cover in the freezer so you can see the coils.
Do not let them de-ice.
If they are heavily iced/frosted over you have a defrost problem.

If yes.
Manually force a defrost cycle by turning the defrost timer cam (Item 257 in Section 4) till the fans and compressor turn off.
Now check the defrost heater to see if it is on.
Be careful you do not want to burn your fingers.
If the heater is on then the timer needs replacing, re: it is probably stalling during it's rotation so is never getting into a defrost cycle.

If not on.
Unplug the unit.