Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages<12
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
flip2468  
#11 Posted : Monday, December 8, 2008 11:36:41 AM(UTC)
flip2468

Groups: Registered

I measured the voltage across the terminals of the outer top heating element with the oven in preheat and got 121v and 123 volts (two tries). You now want me to measure the voltage across the terminals of the doubler relay.Correct? There is four, two red,a white and a yellow. One red has the inline fuse going to the power input terminal block, the other goes to the convenction ring element, the white goes to the cooling fan motor and the yellow heads up towards the control board. Do we want to measure across the two reds??? Too lengthy of a description, but I am a rookie at this.Thanks.
denman  
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 9, 2008 4:11:39 AM(UTC)
denman

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 11 post(s)
OOPs!!!

Lets back up
You should have 240 volts across the heating elements.
I cannot see the relay dropping ~120 volts across the contacts, they would burn up.
I will have to sit down and go over the wiring diagram again.
It looks like you are just connected across half the line. L1 or L2 to Neutral (120 volts) and not L1 to L2 (240 volts)

I assume the voltage you measured was constant and did not fluctuate too much.
THIS FORUM IS DEAD!!!!!!!
denman  
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 9, 2008 9:10:56 AM(UTC)
denman

I believe the 2 red wires will be the correct ones for the elements. They should be heavier gauge wire.

The wiring diagram does not show a fuse. I would pull it and check it.
This still does not explain how we end up with 120 on the oven elements unless we have a short to ground somewhere and this blew this fuse and now one side of the oven elements where they are joined together is shorted to ground and open from the L2 side.