Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
APPNewbie  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 8:48:17 AM(UTC)
APPNewbie

Groups: Registered

Does anybody know anything about these? This only worked for a few months. Since then, it has sat unused. I pulled it apart today. Here is what I have checked: BTW, I am new to a multi-meter
1. Power to T-stat OK, reads in range of 120 V
2. If I read the meter right, to check for continuity, place one probe on one end and the other probe on the other and put the meter to what looks like a solid triangle with a plus sign with the horizontal line going through the triangle. I did this on the Element and it reads 19
3. I am wondering what the reading should be if I place the probes on the wire with the thermal breaker on it. My reading is "000" Could this be the problem? I think this breaker is installed in-line to prevent a potential fire if there is no water in tank.

Anyone have any experience with this unit? Testing with the multimeter is new to me, maybe I am doing something wrong. Help!
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

denman  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 16, 2010 4:13:46 AM(UTC)
denman

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Here is a search for your unit.
Replacement parts for FRIGIDAIRE PLHS269ZDB3 Frigidaire/refrigerator | AppliancePartsPros.com
Your model number seems to be short several digits.

I looked through a couple and did see a thermal fuse (Item 17 in Section).
Perhaps this is blown.
If it is it would be a good idea to also replace the thermostat as that should not have allowed the unit to get hot enough to blow the fuse.

[COLOR="Blue"]1. Power to T-stat OK, reads in range of 120 V[/COLOR]