Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
APPNewbie  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 12:30:42 PM(UTC)
APPNewbie

Groups: Registered

What I have checked on this is as follows:

1. Getting 125V in power to the switch.
2. Switch works as on the other side of the switch, when it is off, I have no power, when turned to on in range of heat I get 124.9V (in range)
3. When probing the wire on switch side of thermal breaker - 124.9V.
4. Checking wire on the other side of the thermal breaker, I only get .1V
5. To make sure the element is still good and wasn't fried, I checked resistance and meter reads 19.4.

I am new to troubleshooting with reading the multimeter, am I doing alright with this?

Could the thermal breaker be the problem? Do you think this is the way it is supposed to read? There is no water in the tank so maybe there is some way that the electrical can pick that up, even though there are no sensors in the tank. Help!
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

APPNewbie  
#2 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 1:21:16 PM(UTC)
APPNewbie

Originally Posted by: APPNewbie Go to Quoted Post

To give more info, I filled the tank up with water and the voltage on the other side of the thermal breaker is still the same @ .1V.
Any help would be appreciated.
Joe / APP Team  
#3 Posted : Monday, November 15, 2010 2:08:29 PM(UTC)
Joe / APP Team

Groups: Moderators

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)

1. Getting 125V in power to the switch.
2. Switch works as on the other side of the switch, when it is off, I have no power, when turned to on in range of heat I get 124.9V (in range)
3. When probing the wire on switch side of thermal breaker - 124.9V.
4. Checking wire on the other side of the thermal breaker, I only get .1V