Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
K.D.  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 7, 2010 1:42:11 PM(UTC)
K.D.

Groups: Registered

OK - start me at the beginning. I'm new at this.
Washing machine refuses to spin. It makes the sounds of spinning, but does not do so. Clothes are coming out clean but soaking wet. The water does drain.
I have run the machine through the other cycles, and it appears to just have the problems during the spin cycle. The water does drain (as best it can without spinning).

Thanks in advance.
K.D.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

K.D.  
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 7, 2010 2:33:28 PM(UTC)
K.D.

I've looked at it a bit more, and sorry if I say the wrong term, but hopefully I'll describe it properly.

I am able to turn the tub clockwise as well as counter lockwise by hand, but it is stiff an takes considerable effort.

I popped the top of the middle stem(? is that the agitator - the thing sticking up in the center of the drum, it's white - hope you know what I'm talking about) It was pretty dirty in there, but there were no gears, etc. Just a nice little bolt that I didn't mess with until I'm directed to do so)

Thought the manual rotating of the tub would help out, but still - jsut makes the noise as if it's spinning (kind of a humming noise), bt no spin. The noise also ramps up a bit, and sounds like it is straining.
Hope these additional notes make sense and help provide the tools to point me in the proper direction.
TIA!
Gene  
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 7, 2010 4:14:46 PM(UTC)
Gene

Groups: Senior Expert, Administrators

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Open and close the lid while it's draining. Would it spin?