Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
jpg90  
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 30, 2017 8:42:53 AM(UTC)
jpg90

Groups: Registered

Hello,

I hope that one of you experts can help me diagnose this issue. I am a newbie. I took the time to record and edit a video that describes the problem fairly well, using captions. It is only 1:15 in duration. You can view it on YouTube, by clicking on this link:

YouTube video describing problem - click here

Current Symptoms:

[LIST=1]
  • When temperature selector is set to HOT, only a little spurt of water comes in, and I hear a clicking noise coming from water inlet valve. It sounds like an old reel-to-reel movie projector.
  • When temperature selector is set to COLD, no water comes in (or very little if there was some already in the compartment), and I do not hear a noise coming from water inlet valve.
    [/LIST]

Specifications:

• Whirlpool Model = WTW5590VQ1.
    • Part number of new water inlet installed = W10144820.

Background Info:

• A single valve shuts off supply to both hot and cold water hoses; this can be seen in the video.
    • Water pressure from the supply and through the hoses is excellent.
    • I bought and installed a new water inlet valve after a second incident of water overflowing the tub and leaking on the floor. Water would drip into the basket even when it was turned off, and would almost fill up the tub overnight. The first time this happened, I bought myself some time by ensuring / requesting that the valve to supply was in the off position when it was not being used.
    • After installing the new water inlet valve, the situation improved as follows: I could leave the water supply in the ON position, and water did not leak / drip into the basket overnight.
    • I did not try to let the washer continue on to the next phase of the cycle.

Questions: