Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
lharrell79  
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 10:13:10 AM(UTC)
lharrell79

Groups: Registered

Need some help. My GE slide in range won't light the oven burner. The broiler lights just fine. Back to the oven burner. The glow igniter gets orange/white, but there's no gas. So I pulled the igniter, tested continuity, and it's good. Next, I swapped both igniters. The broiler works, and the oven still doesn't. So, both igniters are heating properly, and both have continuity.

Next I went to the gas safety valve. I measure the broiler side and the oven side for continuity. Both sides had continuity. At this point I'm scratching my head. I'm not a mechanic, just a DIYer. However, I would really like to fix this myself.

The only parts I can think would be bad are the safety valve, or the control module. Neither one is cheap. They're both over 100 bucks.

Since the safety valve has continuity on both sides, is it possible that the bi-metal switch inside is messed up? Maybe it's jammed and not releasing? How can I test this, and how can I test the control module?

Thanks
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

lharrell79  
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2016 11:29:14 AM(UTC)
lharrell79

Groups: Registered

UPDATE: Figured it out. So, here's what we knew.

1. Broiler works, but oven doesn't light.
2. Both igniters are fine.
3. The gas safety valve has continuity on both the broiler and oven side.

So, it needed further troubleshooting.