Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
FixItSingleMom  
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2016 11:12:11 PM(UTC)
FixItSingleMom

Groups: Registered

Hi there! Not 100% sure on the age of this particular dryer, but it's definitely old lol.

I recently replaced the rear drum support roller on the left when facing the front of the dryer (there's another one higher up on the right that still looked okay). Problem is, I'm a total novice at this whole fix-it thing and thought that, since I decided to replace the roller as well as the axle, I wouldn't need any of the parts I was removing. Wrong!

I ended up using the old axle with the new roller because I couldn't for the life of me find a nut to fit the back of the new axle, and when I did, the component underneath the drum that helps hold it in place didn't fit over the front of the axle, so it wouldn't be doing its job. (The other problem was that the new axle I got positioned the roller way too far back, so it no longer fit into the indent around the edge of the drum where it had been sitting before. I may have gotten the wrong axle.)

I have no idea what this piece is called because I can't find it anywhere.... I think maybe it's just too old a part to find, and so I'm trying to figure out how I can make it do its job because it's making a squeaking sound when I first start up the dryer.

We're a household of me plus three kids, one of whom is a bed wetter, so our laundry is almost constantly going. The older machines you find on Craigslist for $50 tend to be much easier to work on and are able to take a LOT more abuse than the newer ones, which is why I stick to the older appliances and just learn what I need to when something breaks.