Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
karl1970  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 24, 2014 6:39:08 PM(UTC)
karl1970

Groups: Registered

Dryer was working fine. Is right at about 10 years old. Washer & dryer came with the house when I bought it in May 2013.

Powers up. Gas type dryer. All controls appear to work normally. I started the last load to dry and when it was done the clothes were still completely wet. I don't know the dryer shut off early (sorry).

I don't know electronics or appliances, but I've been doing a ton of research so please bear with me.

I first tested continuity on the Thermal Fuse. Tested ok (I'm using a Sperry MultiMeter DM-6400 which I just bought for this purpose so I'm just learning to use it - very overwhelming device:) - I used the "sound test" for this.

So after more research it seems like the problem is likely one of these: Flame Sensor, Igniter, gas valve/coils/solenoid (not sure if this is all 1 or multiple components), or the glow bar.

I unplugged the unit again. I then unplugged a 3 prong and a 2 prong connector both of which connect to the gas valve coils. Using some other info that I found online, it said to test OHM resistance on terminals 1-2 (acceptable resistance should be 1365 +/-25), terminals 1-3 (resistance should be 560 +/-25, and terminals 4-5 (resistance should be 1220 +/-50). On my multi-meter I changed from "sound/continuity" testing to the 2k OHMS setting (honestly not sure if this was right), but none of my 3 tests worked. All stayed at a reading of 1 and didn't change.

Anyway, I plugged the 2 gas valve coil connector wires back in.