Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
tmv1962  
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 4:25:19 PM(UTC)
tmv1962

Groups: Registered

[FONT=&quot]OK, girlfriend moves in with washing machine. I wonder why she sometimes runs to laundry room when doing a load.
She say's since day one of purchase the machine does not go into spin cycle. So next time it does it I want to see what is going on.
The motor is humming but not turning.....
If I lift the lid the machine shuts off and clunks like going into gear, close lid and the machine will spin as it should.
Same happens when pushing knob and turning off.
This does not happen every time, and can be at first or second rinse.
So question is? What could it be if only doing intermittently? Clutch slipping sometimes? Anything else I should look for? How will I know if clutch is bad?
I am not a novice handyman....My washer ( I got rid of when she moved in) was 32 years old and had done multiple repairs over the years and still running today.
Thanks,
Tom

[/FONT]
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

fairbank56  
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 19, 2013 5:52:56 PM(UTC)
fairbank56

Groups: Expert

Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)