Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
dawydiuk  
#1 Posted : Saturday, August 17, 2013 9:45:44 AM(UTC)
dawydiuk

Groups: Registered

I noticed my fridge was warmer than normal, so I started investigating. Please note I'm new at this but learning... The first thing I found was ice in the return air in the fridge. I poured a cup of warm water (it melted the ice) hoping for an easy fix, but no luck. Next I pulled the wiring diagram and pulled the back off the freezer and started looking around(after reviewing the wiring diagram). I found lots of ice build up, which makes me think the defroster isn't working... As I pulled the back off I noticed the fan was running(to blow air into the fridge), but I believe the ice was blocking the air flow(not positive though). I turned off power to the fridge and checked continuity across the bi-metal and it was shorted(0 ohms), which I believe is good. My understanding is that this should trigger a defrost cycle, but the defroster / heating element was not running / hot. Next I disconnected the heating element and measured the resistance across it and got about 30 ohms which I understand is a good sign. If anyone out there could point me in the right direction as to what else to look at I'd really appreciate it. Also, if there is any other information or pictures I could provide I'd be happy to follow up.

Update: