Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
sumrtyme  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 27, 2012 11:35:17 AM(UTC)
sumrtyme

Groups: Registered

Hi, Newbie here. This is a 3 yr old bottom freezer/top fridge unit. I noticed yesterday that the fridge was becoming warm and I felt no cold air anywhere. The freezer on the other hand was still ice cold, no melting, however there is a large amount of frost and ice formed over the vents at the bottom of the freezer. I chipped away the ice and most of the frost. From here I have NO idea what to do next. I've read many similar posts and advice, however, I have no knowledge or what I'm looking for. My manual us useless! and doesn't show anything in terms of a list of parts or what the panels on the back are. I noticed several people recommending taking off the back panel, checking the thermostat, the defrost unit. I have no idea where those are and what's safe to take apart. I will call a repair person if I have to, but it's not in the budget so I was hoping to tool around a little bit myself first. The air in the freezer is blowing out as normal and when i pulled the fridge from the wall the air is blowing out the back vent as well. And I can hear the fan in the fridge working, just no cold air. There's a white panel across the bottom, can I remove this safely? What ever happened to fridges from back in the day that were built to last...oh yeah, the economy! Any help would be great, I can not afford to buy a new fridge after only 3 years with this one. Thank You!!
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

denman  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 28, 2012 4:29:27 AM(UTC)
denman

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Here is the parts breakdown
Replacement parts for Amana AFD2535DEB REF - BOTTOM MOUNTS | AppliancePartsPros.com