Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Mwis  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 6, 2009 6:30:39 PM(UTC)
Mwis

Groups: Registered

Please help. I am new to this but I want to make sure that the part I am going to order will fix the problem. I have a 1.5yr old black side by side WP refrigerator and the ice dispenser door will not stay closed. A repair man came out and took off the black front panel of the whole dispenser and found that the right plastic loop or little bracket/tab thing that holds the rod was broken. He thought I would need to replace the whole door dispensing unit or housing. (because that is where the black loop is attached to) When he called his parts person in IL they said I have to buy a new door for $597. After reading the prior posts on this site esp. from TADAMS and response from TechBrian it sounds like if I order the part number AP3872692 which is the ice door kit, it will fix the problem. Will this work for my problem and refrigerator? I would hate to order the wrong part and then get the repair guy back out here to install if it isn't right. Thank you very much.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

TechnicianBrian  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 6, 2009 8:14:22 PM(UTC)
TechnicianBrian

Groups: Senior Expert

Yes, that kit will work for your refrigerator and the door will be better than new once installed. The kit comes with instructions, but the photos are poor at best, but just understand, you are putting on a bracket to replace the original tabs. Test fit the bracket before removing the adhesive cover paper and it will make sense.
Mwis  
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 7, 2009 2:46:44 AM(UTC)
Mwis