Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
bds85466  
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 7, 2013 12:59:45 PM(UTC)
bds85466

Groups: Registered

Greetings,

I recently was experiencing an issue with my oven (an LG LRE30453ST) where it would not preheat past a certain point. For example, if I was trying to preheat to 350 it would make it up to about 285F and then stop. Or if it was 450, it would read out 385F and then stop, and begin to cool. I verified this using a meat thermometer. At any rate, I wanted to share and document my experiences on a forum to help any other DIYers out there that may run into the same problem.

For the record, I’m not an appliance expert, tech, or repairman by any means – though I do have an ok understanding of basic circuits and troubleshooting/etc as I have an engineering background. I’ve never attempted any of this, so if this info sounds dumb or obvious: LAY OFF – it was my first try hehe.:D

A day prior we were making a pizza @ 425F when we heard a loud buzz (maybe 2 seconds long) come from what we thought was the oven. Accompanying the buzz were all of our lights (I was downstairs at the time) getting very bright for the duration. It was very loud, sounded like the disposal was on but there was something jamming it. Thought it was weird, but didn’t think too much of it because nothing turned off, no fuses blew, and the oven remained at 425F, and cooked the pizza just fine. After the 2 seconds, everything went back to normal…seemingly.

The next morning we made some breakfast rolls at lower temp, maybe 325F and it seemed to stall out at 285F, so we thought that was weird, but we simply turned the broiler on to get it up to temp and then monitored it. It came out fine but still, something was weird.:confused: