Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
rock324  
#1 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 12:05:58 PM(UTC)
rock324

Groups: Registered

I have a GE washer (model #GTWN8250DWS) and it recently started making loud grinding noises when during agitation and when the machine is balancing the load during fill up. Basically, when the basket moves around/side to side, it makes a loud noise. How can I go about fixing this? BTW, I'm a rookie when it comes to this stuff so I have never taken apart a washer. I appreciate any help!
Cheers
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

Joe / APP Team  
#2 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 2:00:46 PM(UTC)
Joe / APP Team

Groups: Moderators

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: rock324 Go to Quoted Post
I have a GE washer (model #GTWN8250DWS) and it recently started making loud grinding noises when during agitation and when the machine is balancing the load during fill up. Basically, when the basket moves around/side to side, it makes a loud noise. How can I go about fixing this? BTW, I'm a rookie when it comes to this stuff so I have never taken apart a washer. I appreciate any help!
Cheers

Rock, Sounds like the problem is in the "mode shifter" portion of the drive system. The mode shifter determines whether the agitate or spin cycle will operate. It is a combination of cams,gears and springs that have to "mesh" in order to drive the tub. We are unable to supply the information you'll need to access and check/repair the component on this forum. If you would be so kind as to re post a question and the information on the AppliancePartsPros.com web site parts in the Q&A portion of the screen, we'll try to get and send the information you need. Thanks,
rock324