Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
johndoe111  
#1 Posted : Friday, July 4, 2014 11:10:44 PM(UTC)
johndoe111

Groups: Registered

I have a GE Freezer that has stopped cooling. The light inside is on but the compressor does not run and is cold to the touch. I don't hear any clicking or any other noise. There's no condenser fan in my model. I have tried manually advancing the defrost timer in case it was stuck with no success.

Part schematic

I removed the start relay and shook it. While it does rattle, it seems to be of the older wire wound type (I'm no expert though). I took a couple pictures of it to help identify it:
http://i549.photobucket...._20140704_234243_912.jpg
http://i549.photobucket...._20140704_234448_242.jpg (it's upside down in this pic to make text easier to read)

I measured resistance on the compressor's pins:

Between side-by-side pins: 13.2
Bottom-left to center top: 10
Bottom-right to center top: 4.5

These measurements aren't quite the same as some tutorials I followed and I don't know how to interpret them, so I'm not sure if the compressor's good or not.

The serial number starts with ML, so it's from July 06.

Is there any way to definitively rule the compressor out? Or a way to directly test it? Could I replace the relay with a 3n1?

Any advice is appreciated!

Additional info: I just tried to measure any kind of voltage coming into the start relay from a connector with a yellow and white wire and read nothing, even though I turned the defrost timer to make sure I didn't happen to be in a defrost cycle. Is that right? Maybe the compressor and relay are good but the "cold control" (I assume this is the item labelled "control temp", #43 in the schematic) or defrost timer itself is bad?
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

johndoe111