Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
RESinNC  
#1 Posted : Sunday, April 19, 2009 5:54:23 PM(UTC)
RESinNC

Groups: Registered

This has probably been answered many times here, but there are so many threads to sift through... I apologize if it's a repeat.

I have a Whirlpool washer and I'm having spin cycle problems. The machine agitates fine, but with large loads, it doesn't spin. It will spin ok with a small load. It spins, but starts very slowly with a medium size load.

The motor seems to be running fine in all cases. The lid switch is working fine. I do seem to have a little dead spot on the timer, but that's not in the neighborhood of where the spin cycle starts. The water will drain, so I don't think I have an issue there.

I'm no expert in washer repair, but this sounds like the symptoms of a clutch slipping. Anyone have any thoughts?
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

sidfink43  
#2 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 5:33:47 AM(UTC)
sidfink43

Groups: Senior Expert

The clutch is the first place to start. Remove the transmission and do the test described in the sticky at the start of this section about brakes and direct drive washers.

Let us know how it turns out, and if it is not the clutch we will see what else we can come up with.
RESinNC  
#3 Posted : Monday, April 20, 2009 5:34:54 PM(UTC)
RESinNC

Ok, I checked the coupling. It's worn, but not broken. I'll replace that just for fun since I have it torn apart, but I don't think it's the problem. The clutch doesn't look excessively worn, no oil, very small amount of dust inside. The brake shoes don't seem to be hanging either. They seem to disengage completely when turning the cam.