Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
mch28  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 4, 2007 4:51:28 PM(UTC)
mch28

Groups: Registered

My refrigerator won't go into defrost mode. I have replaced the bi-metal thermostat with no luck. The evaporator freezes up solid after about 2 months and won't allow the air to flow through it to cool the fridge side. The freezer is fine. I don't have any guide for entering diagnostics. The heater ohms out fine. How can I manually defrost this unit? and What should I try next? There doesn't seem to be a defrost timer. I don't want to throw a $150 main PWB in to find out it didn't fix it.

Thanks
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

ripleys  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 4, 2007 5:28:49 PM(UTC)
ripleys

Groups: Senior Expert

I am no expert on kitchenaid fridges, but if you replaced the defrost thermostat and the heater checks out fine, I'd be safe in saying that the board would need replacing.
okbobcats  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 4, 2007 5:31:14 PM(UTC)
okbobcats

I think you hold the on button and water reset button for adout 3 secouds or so. then you can advance it by pressing the water reset button. I think its when you get to four or five that it goes into the defroost mode. then just keep pressing the water reset button till it back to normal run.
mch28  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 4, 2007 5:31:55 PM(UTC)
mch28

Originally Posted by: ripleys Go to Quoted Post
I am no expert on kitchenaid fridges, but if you replaced the defrost thermostat and the heater checks out fine, I'd be safe in saying that the board would need replacing.

That's what I think too. I just don't know if I missed anything else. I can't seem to find a timer, so I believe it must be on the board.
mch28