Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! You can not login or register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
TigerDriver  
#1 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 8:02:01 AM(UTC)
TigerDriver

Groups: Registered

Hello,

My KitchenAid (photo of info label attached) ice-maker works intermittently (maybe two cycles/day).

• After ice-eject, tray fills with water, water freezes, but doesn't eject for several hours. I get about three cycles per 24hrs.
  • When flapper is closed, light blinks twice between one-second pauses.
  • I removed & thawed ice-maker module overnight; no change.
  • When in doubt, wiggle stuff! Oddly,giggling the ice-making module seems to induce an eject-cycle.
I'm a retired electrical engineer so I'm capable of make any diagnostic voltage measurements.

Thanks in advance. You guys helped me fix my electric stove for about $75 when two local yokels quoted me $700.

Joe

UserPostedImage
TigerDriver attached the following image(s):
photo.jpg
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

Simon / APP Team  
#2 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 11:47:09 AM(UTC)
Simon / APP Team

Groups: APP Team

Hi.

According the info you provided it's a bad optic ice level control.
When you close the flapper door the light should be steady on.

The optic control kit Part number: 4389102
TigerDriver  
#3 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 12:25:07 PM(UTC)
TigerDriver

I'm sorry, but I misread the sense of the question about the light. In fact, it pulses twice followed by a one second pause when the flap is OPEN.

When the flap is closed, it is steady on.

Sorry about the false start here.

Joe
Simon / APP Team  
#4 Posted : Friday, June 29, 2012 1:00:45 PM(UTC)
Simon / APP Team

If the freezer temperature is OK (-2 to 2*F) then most likely

it's the ice maker Part number: 2198597
Part number: 2198597

Thank you.

Simon.
TigerDriver