Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ponyboy  
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 10, 2007 6:58:31 AM(UTC)
ponyboy

Groups: Registered

I have a Whirlpool side by side, model # ED 22PE that has just quit making ice. I have checked the lines to makes sure there are no frozen or broken lines.
About a week before it quit it started making random "hollow" ice cubes. Some of them would be solid, some hollow.
Nothing happens when you flip the coat hangar wire.

Bad water inlet valve? Or maybe mold thermometer? Or solenoid? (suggestions from local appliance guy I called)

I am quite new to appliance repair, was hoping I could get some help. I called locally and was told to check if the ice maker would "go into harvest mode" (?). What is harvest mode and how to I make it do that?

Thanks for the help from a dummy that misses his crushed ice.

Pony
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

MikeThomson  
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 11, 2007 4:51:12 PM(UTC)
MikeThomson

I'm a newbie to repairs on my fridge too and I'm here to get information similar to yours, but it would seem that after reading my book, hollow, small or otherwise deformed cubes come from a poor or under-pressurized water supply. Has anyone messed with the tap that supplies your fridge with water? Have you tried removing the filter and running it without one until you can get a replacement (according to the manual the dispenser will work without the filter installed)... they're just a few suggestions, but the cycling thing is prolly an important dodad to be investigated :)
AppRepair  
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 11, 2007 5:09:08 PM(UTC)
AppRepair