Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
fumblinginthedark  
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2013 7:22:35 PM(UTC)
fumblinginthedark

Groups: Registered

The washer in my Maytag stackable stopped working the other day, as if power to the washer had been cut. (Dryer still worked fine.) Despite being a clueless noob, I was able to diagnose and repair the problem myself using only the information I read on this forum.

Rather than spend hundreds of dollars on a service call, I spent only $7 on fuses and a check switch. I'm so happy with the result that I thought I'd record it so that others who have this problem can benefit from my experience and so I can properly thank experts such as magician59, sidfink43, and Gene who post such helpful answers to this forum.

My first insight came from this post, in which Gene suggests that the lid switch assembly might be faulty. Later in the thread, user mrjohno chimes in with this incredibly useful advice: check the fuse hidden at the front of the machine. He even posted a picture to help me locate the fuse.

I had no idea the fuse was even there. Sure enough, my fuse had blown. Feeling cocky, I went out and bought some replacement fuses. I threw in a replacement and fired up the washer... but the new fuse blew instantly. I was crushed. That's when my wife started to shop for a new washer.

Never one to give up so easily, I found this post with an excellent suggestion by magician59 for detecting short circuits in the washer. In another post, sidfink43 suggests again that the lid switch assembly is the culprit.