Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Bruce Kile  
#1 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2008 6:58:48 AM(UTC)
Bruce Kile

Groups: Registered

Washing machine drum does not spin. Got a burning smell which I guess was the belt. Took belt off and motor runs freely. Drun is very hard to spin by hand. Any suggestions ?? thanks
Bruce Kile
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

fixtec90  
#2 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2008 9:05:35 AM(UTC)
fixtec90

Groups: Senior Expert

Don't junk it no matter what! Maytag LAT's are gems! That machine is very similar to the Maytag model A's which this the best designed washer of all time (Can you tell yet I'm an old Maytag technician yet?)
Ok that said, here are the possiblities:
Sock, nail, or rag caught between tubs
Pump
Poor belt tention
Motor
Transmission

If the motor spins fine w/o the belts on your motor is ok. The pump pulley should turn easily by hand. It's not easy to do w/o out a spanner wrench (I can be loosened w/ a hammer and screw driver), but you need to get the inner tub out. Remove the agitator to get started. I find stuff in between tubs a lot. Belt tention is adjusted by moving pump. If all that's ok you may have a bad tranny. That would be a surprize to me though. Those gearcases are built very well. If you do have a bad tranny I recommend paying a pro to make repair. I know exactly what I'm doing on that job and if everything goes perfectly (and they never do on older machines) it takes me 2hrs+.
If it costs you as much as a new machine fix it. It will probably out live anything you can buy today.
Bruce Kile  
#3 Posted : Saturday, March 29, 2008 9:17:01 AM(UTC)
Bruce Kile