Discuss

Whirlpool Duet F6 Error Code

 in

Washer Repair

. "

I have a whirlpool duet front loading washing machine that stopped working earlier today with the error code F2. The

..."
 
 
Register | FAQ's | New Posts | Today's Posts | Extras
Appliance Repair Forum > Appliance Repair Help > Washer Repair » Whirlpool Duet F6 Error Code

Post New Thread  Reply By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2012, 08:30 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
RookieBrian is on a distinguished road
Default Whirlpool Duet F6 Error Code
Brand: Whirlpool   Age: 5 - 10 years   

Appliance Parts from AppliancePartPros.com


I have a whirlpool duet front loading washing machine that stopped working earlier today with the error code F2. The cause turned out to be one of my kid's socks that got sucked into the drain and it clogged the drain pump. I was able to remove it and clear out the rubber tube and pump.

After putting it back together, we were able to run one load through without any problem. Then the second load stopped mid-cycle with error code F6 (cannot determine RPM of the drive motor). I tried canceling the cycle and moving to the drain and spin cycle. That starts for about 15 seconds with the drain pump starting first, then the drive motor, then it all stops and it flashes '12' (minutes) for a while, then the F6 error code, then tries to start, then repeats that over and over.

The repair diagnostic list didn't help me. I took the front panel off and the wiring control harness looks OK. Then I plugged it in and watched the motor and I was able to see that the drive motor does start to spin, then stops. It seems like a very hard start and stop to me, but I don't have anything to compare it to so that might be normal. But the error remains and it won't spin for more than about 3 seconds. The diagnostic looks like the last step is to make sure the motor spins, which it does. What else could be the problem? Do I need a new motor control unit?

Thanks for your help!!!

Reply With Quote
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:03 PM
Senior Expert
APP Volunteer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,900
sidfink43 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I would try replacing the motor control unit, if you buy from this site and it does not fix the problem you can return it, see the returns policy.
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 04:22 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
RookieBrian is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the response. I ordered a MCU and just installed it today. I tried testing it by doing the rinse cycle with a few small towels and it seemed to complete normally including the high speed spin. After a brief but enthuiastic celebration, we put a full load of clothes in. With 12 minutes left in the cycle, the same F6 error showed up and now I'm back to square 1.

Any other suggestions? Also, is there a way to test the old MCU to see if it is still good?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 05:32 PM
Senior Expert
APP Volunteer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,900
sidfink43 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Darn I had hoped that fixed it.

Check the wiring to the MCU and check the door lock assembly and its wiring. The door lock assembly is the next suspect.

Does this sound like just replacing parts to see what fixes it? Yes, that's the way Whirlpool designed it, though they wont admit it. That's what a tech would do if he or she came to your house.
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 07:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
RookieBrian is on a distinguished road
Default

I checked the wiring on all the harnesses on the MCU side and from what I can tell, it all looks good. All the wires are tight, clean, no burn marks or anything obvious like that.

The door lock seems to function OK but I'll check that next. Do I just check the wiring? Anything specific to look for?

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-26-2012, 08:02 PM
Senior Expert
APP Volunteer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,900
sidfink43 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Look for a bad or broken connection. You may want to try replacing the wiring between the motor and MCU and between the MCU and CCU.

These problems are the result of Whirlpool not making their diagnostics doing any diagnosing.
__________________
-
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-30-2012, 04:28 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
raelton5 is on a distinguished road
Default Did you solve the mystery?

Hello there, after searching the web for quite a while, I was so happy to read your post. Finally, someone that has had the same problem as me. I have the exact same issues..error code etc. Did you ever figure out how to fix it? Thank You!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-02-2013, 09:15 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
RookieBrian is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi raelton5, after checking the wiring and connections, then buying a new MCU, the problem remained. I ended up calling a service technician and after a few tests, the problem turned out to be the main bearing had worn out (lots of shredded plastic under the seal in the front of the drum as well). The good news is that the drum was under warranty but the bad news is the $300 labor charge to replace it was not.

However, I need to give a plug to Whirlpool customer service here. The part was back-ordered and we were told it would arrive in 2 weeks. After 4-5 weeks had gone by, they called and said it would be another month and they offered to give us a credit for a new machine. We had to pay a $100 delivery fee but we have a new machine under new warranty. While their supply chain management leaves a little to be desired, I was very impressed with their customer service going the extra mile. Not very common today.

I hope your experience doesn't leave you without a machine for 2+ months like ours did. Best of luck.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2013, 12:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
ekinskofer is on a distinguished road
Default

raelton5, did you experience the same problem? I can spin the basket by hand and there is no sound and very little resistance. I'm experiencing very similar issues, F06 prior to spin cycle around 28-35 minutes into the cycle. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2013, 11:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7
ekinskofer is on a distinguished road
Default

FYI, I ordered a new MCU, replaced and have had roughly 10 cycles without error. I noticed that the board had larger capacitors on the original and that the version # on the new board was v11 and the original was v6. Looks like Whirlpool fixed whatever problem was causing these boards to fail IMO.
Reply With Quote
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whirlpool duet error code FH misterfixall Washer Repair 6 08-31-2013 07:54 PM
whirlpool Duet error code H/F androck Washer Repair 3 08-18-2013 07:14 AM
Whirlpool Duet error code F06 rhamiltonnc Washer Repair 8 02-27-2013 06:18 PM
Whirlpool Duet Error Code F-11 swampkritter Washer Repair 5 04-14-2011 03:22 PM
whirlpool duet error code FH misterfixall Washer Repair 13 11-10-2010 11:32 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.

The content on this web site is for informational purposes only and is not intended to replace an on-site diagnosis from a qualified appliance service technician. By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com , Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17