Discuss

Maytag washer Error Code F51

 in

Washer Repair

. "

I found once I had the opportunity to clear the F51 code by removing the rotor cover, etc, that there

..."
 
 
Register | FAQ's | New Posts | Today's Posts | Extras
Appliance Repair Forum > Appliance Repair Help > Washer Repair » Maytag washer Error Code F51

Post New Thread  Reply By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2014, 09:20 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 7
klcannon67 is on a distinguished road
Default

Appliance Parts from AppliancePartPros.com


I found once I had the opportunity to clear the F51 code by removing the rotor cover, etc, that there was a very fine baby powder like black powder in the rotor cover and on the rotor motor (or whatever that thing is with all the copper wires and the wonderful computer stuff. The tub seems to be floating correctly but still have the scrubbing. The teeth on when I took the agitator cover off, Part number: AP3892170, don't appear to have any wear on them as you described to look for. Guessing I am going to have to call someone.....UGH! Any advice?

Reply With Quote
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com
 
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2014, 11:43 AM
Joe / APP Team's Avatar
Senior Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,188
Joe / APP Team is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klcannon67 View Post
I found once I had the opportunity to clear the F51 code by removing the rotor cover, etc, that there was a very fine baby powder like black powder in the rotor cover and on the rotor motor (or whatever that thing is with all the copper wires and the wonderful computer stuff. The tub seems to be floating correctly but still have the scrubbing. The teeth on when I took the agitator cover off, Part number: AP3892170, don't appear to have any wear on them as you described to look for. Guessing I am going to have to call someone.....UGH! Any advice?
The black powdery substance is a bit worrisome, a good indication that the shaft or bearings are worn, or something is out of alignment. But then, there should also be water marks or moisture inside the rotor. You're probably correct, it may be best to get someone in to look at it. but let us know what they find, that way we have a reference logged in the system for future posts. Thanks
__________________
Thanks for allowing AppliancePartsPros.com to assist you,

Joe M. APP TEAM



Find Appliance Parts at AppliancePartsPros.com - Largest inventory in the U.S. with 91% of all in-stock orders delivered within 2 business days. Thousands of photos and diagrams make it very easy to find the right part. Enter your appliance model here.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2015, 01:25 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Hardychas is on a distinguished road
Default F-51 code on Maytag 2013 Bravos XL

kept getting F-51 code on maytag bravo 2013 washer. bottom line, after trying everything else I found that the bolt holding the motor cover was loose( you need a large allen wrench) . I tightened it and the washer now works great.
we heard a loud bang from the tub when it spun before the F-51 code. it was the tub banging around because it was loose on bottom. Glad it was a quick inexpensive fix, as I haven't the talent for this sort of thing.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2015, 01:35 PM
Joe / APP Team's Avatar
Senior Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,188
Joe / APP Team is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardychas View Post
kept getting F-51 code on maytag bravo 2013 washer. bottom line, after trying everything else I found that the bolt holding the motor cover was loose( you need a large allen wrench) . I tightened it and the washer now works great.
we heard a loud bang from the tub when it spun before the F-51 code. it was the tub banging around because it was loose on bottom. Glad it was a quick inexpensive fix, as I haven't the talent for this sort of thing.
Hardychas, Great, glad to hear you repaired your washer. Apparently, you do have the talent for this sort of thing. Great Job and Good Luck
__________________
Thanks for allowing AppliancePartsPros.com to assist you,

Joe M. APP TEAM



Find Appliance Parts at AppliancePartsPros.com - Largest inventory in the U.S. with 91% of all in-stock orders delivered within 2 business days. Thousands of photos and diagrams make it very easy to find the right part. Enter your appliance model here.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2015, 04:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Handyman187 is on a distinguished road
Default

I finally found the problem after hours of troubleshooting and researching online. After getting the F51 error I began by taking the drum out of my 5 year old tub. I found about 30 cents in change but nothing bad or plugging the drain. I cleaned up the unit while I had it apart (it was pretty gross in there). After putting everything back together I was still getting the error. I decided it must be the RPS so I ordered a cheap replacement through Amazon. I replaced the sensor with the help of some YouTube videos and fired up the machine. I seemed to work, but when it was time to spin it had a slight delay and made a quiet sound like the motor was stalling. After 5-10 seconds it would engage and everything worked fine after it got started so I left it be. The washer worked for about another month or 2 before I started getting the same error code. Getting frustrated, I knew the root cause of the problem had to be something else, so I got back under the appliance. I disassembled the motor and RPS again. I cleaned the contacts to the RPS even though they looked perfect.

Then as I was beginning to reassemble everything I found the problem. The large lock nut around the shaft was very loose. I think it was 2 full rotations loose. I tightened it up best I could with a vice grip and large wrench. After putting everything back together the washer runs beautifully. Quieter than ever and there are no more delays. It just goes to show you that error code troubleshooting will only get you so far. Sometimes you have to look for other possible problems that could happen.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2015, 06:13 AM
Joe / APP Team's Avatar
Senior Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,188
Joe / APP Team is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman187 View Post
I finally found the problem after hours of troubleshooting and researching online. After getting the F51 error I began by taking the drum out of my 5 year old tub. I found about 30 cents in change but nothing bad or plugging the drain. I cleaned up the unit while I had it apart (it was pretty gross in there). After putting everything back together I was still getting the error. I decided it must be the RPS so I ordered a cheap replacement through Amazon. I replaced the sensor with the help of some YouTube videos and fired up the machine. I seemed to work, but when it was time to spin it had a slight delay and made a quiet sound like the motor was stalling. After 5-10 seconds it would engage and everything worked fine after it got started so I left it be. The washer worked for about another month or 2 before I started getting the same error code. Getting frustrated, I knew the root cause of the problem had to be something else, so I got back under the appliance. I disassembled the motor and RPS again. I cleaned the contacts to the RPS even though they looked perfect.

Then as I was beginning to reassemble everything I found the problem. The large lock nut around the shaft was very loose. I think it was 2 full rotations loose. I tightened it up best I could with a vice grip and large wrench. After putting everything back together the washer runs beautifully. Quieter than ever and there are no more delays. It just goes to show you that error code troubleshooting will only get you so far. Sometimes you have to look for other possible problems that could happen.
Handyman, Thanks for the update, we'e glad everything worked out for you.
You'll want to remember that lesson when you work with error codes on any machine. The codes are more of a "suggestion" than a "rule". Most of the time, it's a process of elimination.
__________________
Thanks for allowing AppliancePartsPros.com to assist you,

Joe M. APP TEAM



Find Appliance Parts at AppliancePartsPros.com - Largest inventory in the U.S. with 91% of all in-stock orders delivered within 2 business days. Thousands of photos and diagrams make it very easy to find the right part. Enter your appliance model here.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2015, 06:01 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
time2fix is on a distinguished road
Default

Finally solved my F51 error... Been fighting this @#$! error for past 2 yrs, whilst cursing the Bravos for at least that long. So I've been chasing the various possible issues like socks between the tubs, change blocking the drains, etc.

Today, I'd disassembled down to the outer tub and noticed the shaft had some pitting, though I found it hard to believe that was the cause of the F51, decided there were not many other options. I'd planned to order parts and reassemble until they arrived (the laundry must not be held up given 4 teenagers!)

In one last attempt to address all options I'd tipped the unit back to wiggle the rotational sensor wires and what did I find?!? Some socks and wash cloths collected under the machine to the point that they were pressing the foam noise baffle on the bottom up against the motor spindle. In removing it, there was a clearly worn path coinciding with the contact point. Ahhh,.... all so obvious now. Confident this was the problem. Thanks for the great forum and all the ideas bantered about.
Best,
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2015, 06:47 AM
Joe / APP Team's Avatar
Senior Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,188
Joe / APP Team is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by time2fix View Post
Finally solved my F51 error... Been fighting this @#$! error for past 2 yrs, whilst cursing the Bravos for at least that long. So I've been chasing the various possible issues like socks between the tubs, change blocking the drains, etc.

Today, I'd disassembled down to the outer tub and noticed the shaft had some pitting, though I found it hard to believe that was the cause of the F51, decided there were not many other options. I'd planned to order parts and reassemble until they arrived (the laundry must not be held up given 4 teenagers!)

In one last attempt to address all options I'd tipped the unit back to wiggle the rotational sensor wires and what did I find?!? Some socks and wash cloths collected under the machine to the point that they were pressing the foam noise baffle on the bottom up against the motor spindle. In removing it, there was a clearly worn path coinciding with the contact point. Ahhh,.... all so obvious now. Confident this was the problem. Thanks for the great forum and all the ideas bantered about.
Best,
Tim
Tim, Great !!! We're happy you found the problem. Keep an eye out for articles falling on the floor when loading and unloading the washer and dryer. Thanks for the update Good Luck,
__________________
Thanks for allowing AppliancePartsPros.com to assist you,

Joe M. APP TEAM



Find Appliance Parts at AppliancePartsPros.com - Largest inventory in the U.S. with 91% of all in-stock orders delivered within 2 business days. Thousands of photos and diagrams make it very easy to find the right part. Enter your appliance model here.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2016, 03:07 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
jimjoe is on a distinguished road
Default Rotor Screw

Hello. I too have an f51 code on our washer I've replaced the bearing already a couple of years ago. last week I code the code. Washer sounds fine. I pulled tub, and there was nothing wedged anywhere. I am trying to get the rotor off to look under that, but the rotor bolt spins loose, but won't come off. I can tighten it. but when I loosen, it just spins and doesn't come out. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2016, 07:11 AM
Joe / APP Team's Avatar
Senior Expert
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,188
Joe / APP Team is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjoe View Post
Hello. I too have an f51 code on our washer I've replaced the bearing already a couple of years ago. last week I code the code. Washer sounds fine. I pulled tub, and there was nothing wedged anywhere. I am trying to get the rotor off to look under that, but the rotor bolt spins loose, but won't come off. I can tighten it. but when I loosen, it just spins and doesn't come out. Any suggestions?
Jimjoe, The rotor and stator assembly is basically a large magnet, once the retainer bolt is loose, you need to manually remove it, or lower the whole assembly from the bottom of the tub. Be careful, the rotor assembly can be slightly difficult to remove, and can "snap back" into position your fingers usually get pinched when this occurs. Once you get the rotor removed, check the sensor wire harness and sensor position between the stator modules. Also check the connections at the machine control board.
__________________
Thanks for allowing AppliancePartsPros.com to assist you,

Joe M. APP TEAM



Find Appliance Parts at AppliancePartsPros.com - Largest inventory in the U.S. with 91% of all in-stock orders delivered within 2 business days. Thousands of photos and diagrams make it very easy to find the right part. Enter your appliance model here.
Reply With Quote
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maytag neptune error code brockner75 Washer Repair 2 02-12-2012 04:20 PM
Please Help F3 error code on Maytag oven barnz2000 Oven Repair (including Ranges and Cooktops) 0 03-19-2010 04:49 PM
Maytag Neptune error code: L5 or E5 skalesplitur Washer Repair 1 03-05-2010 06:46 AM
Maytag refrig error code Markie21 Refrigerator & Freezer Repair 1 04-02-2009 06:37 PM
Maytag Gemini Error Code F1-4 Bondy Oven Repair (including Ranges and Cooktops) 1 10-27-2008 09:36 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 AM.

The content on this web site is for informational purposes only and is not intended to replace an on-site diagnosis from a qualified appliance service technician. By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com , Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17