Discuss

whirlpool F1 code

 in

Washer Repair

. "

I just called Whirlpool because I am having this same problem. Even though my washing machine is almost six years

..."
 
 
Register | FAQ's | New Posts | Today's Posts | Extras
Appliance Repair Forum > Appliance Repair Help > Washer Repair » whirlpool F1 code

Post New Thread  Reply By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2013, 05:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
klingtocash is on a distinguished road
Default

Appliance Parts from AppliancePartPros.com


I just called Whirlpool because I am having this same problem. Even though my washing machine is almost six years old, the company is fixing it for free. Call the customer service line on the Whirlpool website and they should fix the problem for free.

Reply With Quote
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com
 
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:55 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
pvv3 is on a distinguished road
Smile Cabrio f1 repair

Called the 866 number above. Free repair and parts!
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2013, 05:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
1Sherry1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks King. My washer just this morning thru a F1 at me and thought, "What the heck"? I had to go to the laundry mat, which wasn't bad. I came home and found this site. I called the number you posted and they are coming Monday, (In 4 days). Actual Whirlpool Factory Certified Care. Not a 3rd party. He told me they don't know why F1 is now coming up a lot. But service and parts are free. Thanks for posting the phone number. You saved me much time and money. Nice job! Sherry
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 01:01 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
aac1024 is on a distinguished road
Default called whirlpool

Called the 800 number twice refused to pay for parts and LABOR. Only parts would be free, not labor. Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2013, 11:32 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
1Sherry1 is on a distinguished road
Default Whirlpool Cabrio

Quote:
Originally Posted by aac1024 View Post
Called the 800 number twice refused to pay for parts and LABOR. Only parts would be free, not labor. Any advice?
Bummer. All I know is the service guy said I was lucky because his company was an actual Whirlpool Service Co. So I didn't pay for anything. Maybe because the service co you were getting wasn't a whirlpool service, so they charge labor which Whirlpool probably won't reimburse them for. I really don't know why some charge and some don't. The guy told me Whirlpool knows this is a huge problem with the Washing Machines and just continue to wait till customers complain before doing anything. When I called the 800 number, the guy said I was lucky because where I lived had the Whirlpool Service, so they would be coming. Maybe he knows that some of the services they send out will charge for labor. Sorry I don't have a good answer for you. Sherry
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2013, 03:30 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
honeybee is on a distinguished road
Default no luck

I called the 800 and 866 numbers which seemed to lead to the same end. After explaining my f1 error code issue, I did not get anyone to say that the repair and parts would be covered. No one said anything about a "quality assurance issue" even after I asked specifically. They simply told me the price of parts and labor. How is everyone else getting such great responses?
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2014, 01:21 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Curtville is on a distinguished road
Default F1 Code

I recently started getting the F1 Code on my washer. I ordered and replaced the Pressure Sensor on the circuit board. De-solder the 8 pin sensor and replace. Took me less than 30 minutes to fix. I ran self diagnostic on the machine and all pass. I have ran four loads thru the machine and all is well.

Hope this helps someone.

I ordered the part from Digi-Key corporation.

Part number: MPVZ5010GW7U-ND
Pressure Sensor Vert 8-DIP
$14.54 +
$ 1.02 shipping
Total:15.56
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2173[1].jpg (14.1 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by Curtville : 01-05-2014 at 03:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 01-05-2014, 01:33 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
honeybee is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks curtville for that detailed info. I will try the same thing and report the results. I have emailed the law firm handling the case and so far have only received a, "you will be contacted" response from the secretary. I found the Facebook page bashing these washers and it made me feel a little better, but that's it. My water pump is now leaking for the second time as well (replaced once). Joy.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2014, 09:41 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
jmjsocal is on a distinguished road
Default F1 Code

Hi Curtville,

I hope this message gets to you quickly! I recently started getting the F1 Code like everyone else. My question to you is:

Is this a simple job to do soldering? I have very light soldering experience and would hate to purchase something I'm only going to screw up and still have to buy the control board.

I usually look up youtube to watch how repairs are done but there isn't anything available regarding the replacement of this item!

Thanks everyone with the information posted. Like everyone else I called Whirlpool. My experience was nothing short of lucklaster service. They offered me a whopping 25% discount on the control board...
For those with this problem, I have found control boards on ******** for under $100.
I will attempt to repair the problem using Curtvilles method since its under $20 and report back once its complete!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2014, 02:22 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
RajunCajun is on a distinguished road
Default Pressure sensor replacement diagnoses

Here is the troubleshooting steps if your cabrio is displaying a F1 code.
This guide requires power to be applied to the circuit board. Extreme caution is required due to the risk of electrocution. If you have any doubt in your electrical abilities do not proceed with these steps and replace the entire module.

First determine if the air line going to the pressure sensor is kinked or damaged, this can be done by visual inspection. If hose is ok, proceed to the next step.

This step requires the use of a multimeter: with power applied to the washer locate the pressure sensor on the control module. Look at the 8 pins which is soldered to the circuit. Pin 1 will have a notch in it, the layout will be:

1. 5
2. 6
3. 7
4. 8

Pins 1, 5, 6, 7, and 8 are internal device connections. Do not connect to external circuitry or ground. Set your multimeter to continuity check and check pins 1,5,6,7,8 these pins should be normally closed in reference to pin 4 which is voltage out, if any of these pins read open, replace the pressure sensor. Pin 2 is voltage input, set your meter to DC scale and verify that there is 1-5 VDC input ( red lead on pin 2, black lead on pin 3 ). Pin 3 is ground, when checking output voltage from the sensor, reference all +VDC to this pin. If voltage is present at pin 2, check and see if you have the same readings at pin 4. If no voltage present at pin 4, replace pressure sensor. If no voltage is present at pin 2, replace module.
Reply With Quote
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whirlpool F2 code bearhunter012 Oven Repair (including Ranges and Cooktops) 8 11-17-2010 11:17 AM
Whirlpool code svcmgr Oven Repair (including Ranges and Cooktops) 7 07-23-2009 01:58 PM
Whirlpool MW,Getting F7 code aplmaster Microwave Repair 1 02-18-2009 06:37 AM
Whirlpool SL Code zachman88 Washer Repair 0 12-31-2008 08:38 AM
whirlpool F1 code sglass Washer Repair 0 07-28-2008 04:52 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 PM.

The content on this web site is for informational purposes only and is not intended to replace an on-site diagnosis from a qualified appliance service technician. By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com , Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17