Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
ColetteP  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 2, 2009 5:45:17 AM(UTC)
ColetteP

Groups: Registered

Just bought a used side-by-side refrigerator, model 106.53082300 Kenmore. Set up 2 days ago, slow to reach 40 degrees F, and everytime I open to remove something, the temp raises to 50 and it takes hours to reach 40 degrees again. Can't get it lower than 40. The freezer and ice maker work fine. No obstructions to flow. I hear the motor run. What concerns me is that the vertical dividing metal panel between the frig and frez is burning hot to touch...even makes the rubber insulating trim on door panel hot. Hot from top to bottom. I am new to this type of frig, so I am not familiar with it and don't know what 'normal' is, but I don't hear a loud fan blowing when I open the door. The outlet flow from frez to frig at the top is blowing in some cool air into frig. The inlet flow from frig to frez, by veggie drawer, is not blocked. Someone told me it was normal for heat while it sets up, but now the rubber is starting to get brown. What can this be?
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

denman  
#2 Posted : Monday, November 2, 2009 6:34:18 AM(UTC)
denman

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 11 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Here is a good site with fridge troubleshooting help
http://www.applianceaid.com/refrigerator.html

Check out Item 18.
Dirty condenser coils is the most common cause. Also check that the front lick plate and the rear cover are clean.
Check the fan to be sure it is operating OK and that the fan blades are clean.
THIS FORUM IS DEAD!!!!!!!
ColetteP  
#3 Posted : Monday, November 2, 2009 9:09:33 AM(UTC)
ColetteP

Groups: Registered