Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
progmac  
#1 Posted : Sunday, February 17, 2013 12:38:43 PM(UTC)
progmac

Groups: Registered

I picked up this freezer for free. It is a low-end non defrost 7 cubic foot freezer. Newish. I am not experienced with freezers but have repaired this and that over the years. When I plug it in, the compressor makes low-level noise and gets hot. The freezer doesn't get cold...it certainly doesn't freeze. Some condensation happens inside so it might get a very little bit below room temperature.

My initial thought is starter relay. There is another part i'm not familiar with but I imagine is standard.

Haier freezer compressor parts - YouTube

sorry i don't just have a picture. my digital camera is on the fritz.

My questions:

1 - do the symptoms (hot compressor, very little to no cooling) seem consistent with a broken starter relay?
2 - what is the part that isn't the starter relay shown in the video?
3 - the relay says 'cubigel SA' 'A1A6' on it; the other part says 'C414' - are replacement parts standardized or hard to find?

thanks so much!
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

progmac  
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 17, 2013 5:47:34 PM(UTC)
progmac

OP here

After some more investigating, some amount of cooling is happening. The coils coming out of the compressor (they go into a sealed wall) are frosty cold. The inside of the freezer is cool but not cold. Now i'm thinking this must have a leak somewhere. Certainly beyond my ability to fix if that is the case.

Thoughts?
progmac  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2013 4:30:58 AM(UTC)
progmac

just a quick bump to see if anyone has thoughts.
denman  
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 21, 2013 2:11:10 AM(UTC)
denman

Groups: Senior Expert