Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
weilersbacher  
#1 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2009 1:29:54 PM(UTC)
weilersbacher

Groups: Registered

Here's the story, I just moved into a place and the former tenants left a GE side by side refrigerator. Worked fine for about a week and recently the freezer started frosting up.

Went in and cleaned off the condenser; no luck. Checked the evaporator coils and they are completely covered in frost i.e. not patchy so I assume that it is a defrost problem and not a refrigerant problem. All of the fans in the unit run. I am relatively new to the appliance repair world but am handy and can do most all home DIY repairs. I plan on replacing the defrost timer, the defrost heater, and the defrost thermostat in order to cover all my bases and don't have a voltage meter handy.

Here's the big problem: The GOSH DARN model number tag has been ripped off the inside of the fresh foods section. GE says they can't help me period without a model number. I also don't have a user manual or anything like that. By looking over diagrams online I've discerned the model number to be a GSS22JFMWW series or something very close to it. I believe the unit was manufactured in 2001 based on a tag in the back panel that mentions something about oil and nothing else. I've found parts close to what I need for the thermostat and the heater but nothing about a timer. Is this timer integrated into the motherboard?

I guess what I'm asking for is some insight into the situation as far as choosing the right parts and fixing my problem. I assume many parts are interchangeable? Any type of advice that anyone can offer me would be huge. I really don't want to call a repairman if I can do it myself but I'm afraid of causing more damage than I fix.

Thanks so much!!!
Sponsor