Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
blitztwn36  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, August 16, 2011 4:27:38 PM(UTC)
blitztwn36

Groups: Registered

Hello everyone - On Saturday night I noticed my refrigerator having an unusual humming/buzzing sound. I unplugged it for 45 minutes, plugged it back in, and everything sounded normal. Sunday morning I woke up and it sounded like my refrigerator was still running, but I found it to be nearly room temperature inside!

I'm a complete novice, but figured since money was tight, I'd try to do it myself - after some reading, I thought it might be the defrost timer since it appeared it wasn't passing some of the standard continuity tests between terminals 1-4 and 1-2. However, that did not solve the problem, but I noticed that the compressor 'clicked' ever few minutes.

So I took my multimeter and tested the pins on the compressor - noting that they read 5/6/11 - from what I understand, since they add up to the high number, the compressor isn't bound-up? Or should the two lesser ones be equal? I also tested continuity between pins, noting all pins tested positive. Finally, I tested for grounding and didn't note any grounding of the compressor from any pin.

So I bought a new relay/overload (even though my relay didn't rattle, I figured it was worth a shot). Well, I replaced both and the refrigerator still clicks. I'm out of ideas and ready to buy a new refrigerator, however if I can salvage this one, I'd transfer it downstairs as a back-up/spare room. Anyone have any tips on something I'm missing?

Thanks!
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

richappy  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 2:21:54 AM(UTC)
richappy

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)