Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
whitman  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 11:16:34 AM(UTC)
whitman

Groups: Registered

Two year old Kenmore elite with bottom freezer is not defrosting. Service was called and repair man replaced electronic control. Three weeks later, fully frosted over again. I spoke to repair and he said that he did not check any of the components on the defrost system. He said he only checked the control panel and it said there was an error so he replaced it. I have now decided to take this matter on myself. My background is engineering so I am comfortable with the task.

I wanted to confirm that i do not have a defrost timer in my unit, and that the electronic control board tells the defrost system when to come on?

My plan is to check the defrost heater and defrost thermostat for proper function and replace either of those if they are bad. Is there anything else I should also check at that time?

thanks for your help!

Full model number: 596.76053701
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

whitman  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 27, 2010 9:21:10 PM(UTC)
whitman

Opened up back panel tonight to check on defrost system. Disconnected defrost heater at both ends and checked continuity accross it. Measured 33 ohms. Wiring diagram that came with unit lists normal range of 29 ohms +/- 5%. So this seems to be within range.

Next checked defrost thermostat. It was warmed to room temp by the time I got to it, so it read open, which the wiring diagram lists as normal at room temp. Will need to freeze it somehow to check the continuity again. Any tips on how to do this without a second freezer? It takes me too long to get inside the back panel.