Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
microman2011  
#1 Posted : Monday, January 3, 2011 5:02:20 PM(UTC)
microman2011

Groups: Registered

Hello Everyone,

I really need someone to respond to this post. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

I'm not an appliance repairman by trade; however I am a former technician and was hoping for some technical assistance with a microwave problem. I called the number on the website, but they can only type in a model number and read a general description. They are not technically trained and suggested I submit a post to this forum for expert advice. In order to avoid replies such as “what is you model number”, “did you test this or that”, I will try to provide those details. Please forgive me if this is too much information.

I have a GE Profile SpacemakerXL Sensor (over-the-range) microwave model JVM1350WW02. It began to make a loud buzzing/humming noise when the unit turns on. It was an electrical sounding hum like a stuck relay or something. I immediately shut the unit off since I was concerned about causing more damage. I completely disassembled the unit and cleaned all the grease, grime, dust, etc, then looked for any obvious signs of a problem.

I did find a cold solder joint to a transistor/power regulator on the control panel board. I removed the part, cleaned up the area, tested transistor as working, then re-installed. I also found an overheated primary door switch with a burnt female spade connector to the switch and melted plastic (see attached photo). I also found evidence of arching inside the switch. I replaced the switch and connector and used non-conductive shrink tubing since I could not locate the factory plastic connector covers.