Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
rleescott  
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 6:34:22 AM(UTC)
rleescott

Groups: Registered

I have a Heil combination hvac unit, gas heat/ac. Mod#npgaa60e1k6.It just passed the 10 year warranty.The furnace will not ignite. When the thermostat comes on, the exhaust? motor runs and continues to run but there is no ignition at the pilot, so no heat. The blower runs if fan is set to on, but, of course, not if set to auto, since the furnace doesn't fire up. I have no experience with ignitor pilots, only old style thermocouples. How do I proceed?
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

SublimeMasterJW  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 19, 2010 6:15:45 AM(UTC)
SublimeMasterJW

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
The furnace first clears out any fumes or lingering gases by starting a draft fan motor, a timing sequence begins, after a minute and ahalf the control senses the draft through the pressure hose to the proving switch and turns on the ignitor After 30 seconds the gas valve solenoid is powered up and raw gas comes out to the glowing ignitor. At this point the control does not know if the gas was ignited and gas gas is spewing out the valve. So the control has to rely on a flame sensor/electronic thermocouple to send back confirmation. If it does not get the confimation it shuts down. If the confirmation is good then the control starts a stimer and after aminute or so the fan comes on and throws warm air into the home. So what can go wrong?
No power to control
control fuse blown
tripped safety switch
faulty ignitor
faulty sensor
faulty control board
Here is a video I found on you tube that features howit works:

FoggyFacts: HVAC trouble shooting