Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

5 Pages123>»
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Hearthman  
#1 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 1:11:34 PM(UTC)
Hearthman

Groups: Expert

I am a fireplace consultant and trainer. I have worked in product liability, quality control and technical services for a major hearth appliance mfr. and have been in the hearth industry for over 20 yrs. I sit on the UL Standards Technical Panel 103 for venting products.

Please feel free to ask your hearth, venting, IAQ, sooting questions. :D
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

Admin / APP Team  
#2 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 5:27:55 PM(UTC)
Admin / APP Team

Groups: Registered

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
That's excellent, Hearthman! Good to have you. UserPostedImage

I'll pin this to the top for now till we get a few questions and then make a separate category.
richappy  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2008 5:28:22 AM(UTC)
richappy

Groups: Senior Expert

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I am sure you are aware that an open fireplace will produce a negative efficiency, suck more energy out than in, due to the large draft. Will heat one room real good and freeze the others.
Hearthman  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2008 5:41:01 AM(UTC)
Hearthman

Rich, you are correct regarding the low efficiency of open hearth Fps. Your typical 36"wide by 30" high fireplace can suck 400-600 cfm up the chimney. Air you already paid to heat. While standing in front of the flames, you will feel heat. This is infrared energy or radiant heat the same as the sun. There is an urban legend this is where the wingbacked chair came from---the breeze of cool air blowing by your glowing face. :D