Discuss

Can't get belt back on idler pulley

in

Dryer Repair

. "

I replaced the idler pulley on my maytag dryer but I no matter what I do I can't get the

..."

Register | FAQ's | New Posts | Today's Posts | Extras
Appliance Repair Forum > Appliance Repair Help > Dryer Repair » Can't get belt back on idler pulley

Post New Thread  Reply By reading any content on this site you agree to AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc. disclaimer and Terms of Use.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2008, 01:50 PM

MCNorris is on a distinguished road
Default Can't get belt back on idler pulley
Brand: Maytag   Age: 5 - 10 years   

Appliance Parts from AppliancePartPros.com

I replaced the idler pulley on my maytag dryer but I no matter what I do I can't get the belt back on, the diagrams I have seen show the pulley in a position that it will not go, the pulley will not go under the drive pulley, when I bend the arm the idler goes into the drive pulley, this is my first time doing this so I have no clue what is wrong, thanks

I did the best I could on the pictures, I had to just shove the camera back there and blindly take them.

http://i287.photobucket.com/albums/l...1/100_1222.jpg
http://i287.photobucket.com/albums/l...1/100_1233.jpg
http://i287.photobucket.com/albums/l...1/100_1234.jpg
http://i287.photobucket.com/albums/l...1/100_1238.jpg

See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

Old 05-28-2008, 01:39 PM
Senior Expert
APP Volunteer

Gene has a brilliant futureGene has a brilliant future

Place the belt onto the outside of the tumbler and position the belt 11/2" in front of rear baffle mounting screws with the ribbed side against the tumbler.

Position the tumbler into the rear felt seal, resting the tumbler onto the rear rollers. Lower the front of the tumbler onto the blower housing.