Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

2 Pages12>
New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
manimal  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 11:57:21 AM(UTC)
manimal

Groups: Registered

Kenmore model 70 has no heat. Last year, I replaced the themal cutoff switch after losing heat. At the time, I was able to locate the open circuit at the cutoff switch, replaced it, and all was well.

Now, I have no heat, but the coil is receiving 240v as normal. Coil reads out 10.5 ohms, and is listed as 7.5-11.5 as within normal range.

For measure, I have bypassed thermostat and thermal cutoff - no help. Coil still receives 240v, but does not heat up.

It seems as if the coil is bad, but how would it be measuring the correct resistance if it's toast? I'm not an electrician, I don't know!

Also, worth noting is that I have measured coil input with main ground input. When grounding to the coil housing, it only appears to have 120v. Don't know if this is normal.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

Gene  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 2:04:46 PM(UTC)
Gene

Groups: Senior Expert, Administrators

Was thanked: 4 time(s) in 4 post(s)
Can you be more specific on how did you check the voltage to the coil? Have you removed the wires from the coil prior to do it?

What is the complete model number of the dryer?

Gene.
manimal  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 2:28:19 PM(UTC)
manimal

Sorry about the model number. It's a Kenmore Series 70, model no. 66722694.