Customer Support 7 days a week

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

New Topic Post Reply
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
pmueller07  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2008 3:30:12 PM(UTC)
pmueller07

Groups: Registered

We inherited a Kenmore gas dryer with the house we bought back in March 2007 so I don't know how old it is. Until yesterday it was working fine--now it runs but will not heat up at all. I have seen seen a number of possibilities on this site (thermal fuse, heating element, etc.) but I am a novice and don't know where to begin. We're thinking of replacing it since Sears charges $60 just to look at it and we both assume any additional repair cost might be better put toward a new dryer. Any ideas? If it helps the serial # is ML3401979 and type is DDOT-NAT-1206006-CV22. I'd like to know how old it is and would greatly appreciate specific details on any suggestions on how to troubleshoot. Thanks.
Sponsor
See inside of your appliance - diagrams and part photos for virtually every model.

powered by AppliancePartsPros.com

ripleys  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 15, 2008 6:05:20 PM(UTC)
ripleys

Groups: Senior Expert

The easiest and least expensive repair is a thermal fuse. DISCONNECT POWER TO DRYER. Pull dryer out, disconnect dryer vent and proceed to take complete back off dryer. Near the bottom of the dryer you will find a little white part (thermal fuse) has two wires going to it and is held in with a single 1/4" screw. Pull off both those wires on the thermal fuse, tape them together and try the dryer. If it starts, the thermal fuse needs replacing. Also at that time clean dryer and venting and check that your outside vent damper is opening completely. Hope this helps.
pmueller07  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 16, 2008 6:13:56 PM(UTC)
pmueller07

Thanks. I'll give it a try.
pmueller07  
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 17, 2008 4:55:24 PM(UTC)
pmueller07